Ever feel like you are the quieter one amongst a group of friends? Like you want to leave early despite having fun? Exhausted after a long day of having to “interact”? Or like a potato in a world of french fries? Then you’re just like me. Nice to meet you too, dear introvert :).

My highschool journey was a bitter one. All throughout those 2 years, I felt like I had to be a certain way. I would see so many social butterflies around me to the point where I got convinced that people only like extroverts. They rule. And Saania? Oh, she was an alien who landed on the wrong planet! I had a hard time accepting this part about myself. Being an introvert. However, as I step into the larger world, I finally realize it is okay. My top 3 reflections? Here we go…

1. Communicating our needs. Not everyone is a mind reader. It’s better to just be honest about ourselves. My social battery, for instance, doesn’t last very long. In fact, even during my internship I had to make strategic visits to the restroom! But my friends and acquaintances shouldn’t have to try to figure me out, that’s not their job. It’s best to simply articulate my limits to them so they know how to have a relationship with me. I also no longer shy away from saying phrases like, “sorry guys, today I am a listener!”. What I have realized is that most of the time, people surprisingly get it.

2. Trying to be someone we’re not? Right. It’s exhausting. Getting out of our comfort zones from time to time is great! But we also must know our limits. I will never be the girl who will walk into a room and charm a bunch of strangers (or familiars). The one who will choose to participate in group activities when given the option to work independently. Or make wild Sunday plans, because curling under my blanket like a burrito is a much safer haven for me. I only open up to people I am comfortable with (sometimes they have to shut me up!). And I have found peace this way.

3. Nobody is “normal”. I remember calling my dad every other day and screaming, dad, what on earth is wrong with me?!!. It took me a while, but I have finally embraced my introversion. Reflective, introspective, “a deep thinker”. These are some adjectives people use to describe me. I have now learnt to see them in a beautiful, positive light. These qualities in me are what recharge and energize me. For instance, quiet and peaceful spaces inspire me to write. Or, a lot of people eye-roll or giggle when I tell them I go on weekly solo-dates. Well, it is on those days I feel the best about myself. Treating myself to a vegan strawberry glazed donut with a warm cup of vanilla latté in a quiet corner of a café. Mmmm. The best. (If you have a problem with this, shhh.. it isn’t up for debate). Well-known actresses like Emma Watson, too, claim to be introverts. Even Mahatma Gandhi recalled being a shy kid who refrained from talking to people, but led a pretty successful life leading the entire nation of India! Or take our feathery friend, the owl. They are solo operators, but are one of the most quiet, mindful, and logical creatures I admire 🦉.

So, if you’re an introvert, let go of any shame or envy. Nothing is wrong with you.

May the force of solitude be with you!

– SaaniaSparkle 🧚‍♀️

55 responses to “The Power of Introverts.”

  1. DDM Avatar
    DDM

    What a wonderful and accurate post about us introverts, Saania. As a young girl, I’ll admit I struggled with my natural make-up of being an introvert. The world at large is not particularly welcoming towards introverts. Oftentimes we are deemed weirdos, freaks, standoffish, etc. I came into my own piece by piece during my high school days. I reveled in my introversion during my young adult years. One of the best things about being an introvert, is that I am rarely bored. I own who I am. I love it here. Thank you for sharing your experience and post. Introverts Rock!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Batman Crime Solver Avatar
    Batman Crime Solver

    Grazie per aver condiviso il tuo viaggio e le tue riflessioni sull’introversione. È un percorso che molti possono comprendere e apprezzare, e condivido molte delle tue idee. Accettare se stessi per quello che si è, comunicare apertamente i propri bisogni e abbracciare le proprie qualità uniche sono passaggi fondamentali per trovare la pace e la felicità.

    Like

  3. Ehna War Vel Avatar
    Ehna War Vel

    The visual is cool

    Like

Leave a comment

Latest Articles