When relationships go wrong, social comparisons kick in, failures hit harder than Monday mornings, or burnouts become real, self-love saves the day. From my own experiences, here are 5 habits of people who love themselves. Unconditionally…

1. Over-explaining? Let’s drop that baggage. We’ve all been there. Sending that novel-length text to someone which actually wasn’t needed at all! As women especially, we feel we need to justify ourselves and our decisions all the time. We are scared of hurting others. To be misunderstood. The root of this comes from people-pleasing. Well, when we do this, our self-worth depends on others and very soon we feel powerless. But do I need a thesis statement to prove I am worth it? Nope, thank you, next!

2. Finding time to “live in the moment”. The monkey mind is a Buddhist concept that describes a state of restlessness. But people who love themselves know how to control their thoughts by being in the present. Adrenaline junkies achieve this by doing crazy dangerous stunts! But we can achieve it long-term by meditation, yoga, mindfulness and hobbies. Ah, the beauty of hobbies! When I twirl into a pirouette, nail the happy foot in hip hop, or blog away for hours, I don’t think for a second about my worries, or even who I am pleasing. I simply connect with myself. And that is a rare feeling. Did you know a Harvard Health study found amongst 93,000 people across 16 countries, more than 60% claimed better health and well-being due to having hobbies? So if you don’t have one, try channeling your inner Picasso, break a sweat at sport, or whip a cupcake. Options are endless, you’ll find yours!

3. Just like we forgive others, learning to forgive ourselves. We all screw up. Goof up. Regret things. While it’s certainly important to plan, be aware, or assess situations, we inevitably look back sometimes and go, “how could I have been so stupid?”, “Man, I should have known better!”. But no, you were not stupid and you couldn’t have known better. Some moments simply call for reflection. Sure you didn’t know better then, but hey, now you do.

4. Learning to love our own company. Building social networks helped our ancestors meet daily challenges. In fact, a study by Science suggests human behaviors like creation of extended social networks were established at least 320,000 years ago. But today we get so used to being around people that we forget how to be happy alone! This isn’t good. Mahatma Gandhi even said, “It’s easy to stand in the crowd but it takes courage to stand alone.” Perhaps that is why we get trapped in toxic relationships and friendships? We hold onto whoever is “convenient” but later realize they were more harm than good. So I’m here to convince you with my unpopular opinion: being by yourself is sometimes the best thing ever! Try it- go for a movie alone, sip a coffee in a cute café, meditate alone, shop till you drop. It gets fun. Trust.

5. Being aware of our morals. Our morals guide us with what is right and wrong and are unique to each of us. Take a moment to ask yourself, “What do I stand for? what do I not stand for?”. Years ago I would look at myself in the mirror and HATE what I saw. That nasty tummy, the double chin, the uneven legs, the droopy untoned arms. I started to eat healthy and hit the gym because I loved myself enough to change and that was my moral. Now when my own friends and family criticize me saying I’m “too thin”, I remind myself that I am not perfect. But I am healthier than I was yesterday. And that’s all that matters so long as I never give up. Or the fact that I follow a largely vegan lifestyle due to my love for animals. People attack me with their opinions all the time! But I immediately remove myself from those situations. I will not care about how that makes them feel. I won’t stay just to make them satisfied and happy. I will walk away if they continue to pressure me. This is the act of self-love! Our morals are non-negotiable. If you believe it, own it.

– SaaniaSparkle 🧚‍♀️


25 responses to “5 habits of people who love themselves”

  1. Umang Patel Avatar
    Umang Patel

    wow.. most people spend their without having these basic but important realizations.. All are spot on.

    Like

  2. 80smetalman Avatar
    80smetalman

    Great post Saania! Being a former bullying victim combined with living through the intolerant times of 80s Reagan America, I found myself over explaining all the time. I feel much better now that I don’t do that anymore.

    Like

  3. Poetic Spirit Avatar
    Poetic Spirit

    Great post.

    Like

  4. authordianemhow Avatar
    authordianemhow

    Such wise insights. Thanks for sharing, Saania.

    Like

  5. Rebecca Cuningham Avatar
    Rebecca Cuningham

    Great post. I like all the points you mentioned. Very healthy outlook!

    Like

  6. joannerambling Avatar
    joannerambling

    Interesting post, do I love myself, yes I do and I also like myself and I am able to forgive my stuff ups in life and I have had afew

    Like

  7. katiemiafrederick Avatar
    katiemiafrederick

    All Valuable Points on Loving
    The SKiN Within You Bring Free

    Naked Enough Whole Complete
    Hehe SaaniaSparkle i Came into
    This World With A SMiLe That For
    A While ‘The Other World’ Took Away

    Back to Nature
    i Go Return And
    Yes Come Again
    Loving Free iN Peace

    Typically The Rest of Life
    Falls And Rises in Similar Ways

    As Long As Wings oF LoVE iN Peace
    This SPiRiT Wind Within Inside Outside
    Above So Below and All Around Flies me Free

    With
    SMiLes

    Just not much
    of A ‘List Maker’ Sweating
    ‘Bullets’ Anymore Letting Go And
    Allowing Life to Come Free to me on Wings..:)

    Like

  8. Cindy Georgakas Avatar
    Cindy Georgakas

    Wonderful post with vital tips to love ourselves❣️❣️

    Like

  9. wheatypetesworld Avatar
    wheatypetesworld

    Up to your usual standard, Saania. Another interesting and powerful read. A thought occurs: I do hope no-one has hurt you recently after reading this.

    Like

  10. Alejandro De La Garza Avatar
    Alejandro De La Garza

    I finally developed these attributes after years of self-doubt and self-loathing!

    Like

  11. avdew3 Avatar
    avdew3

    Nicely articulated. Indeed self love is very important in today’s time.

    Like

  12. Azamfarooq Avatar
    Azamfarooq

    Wow

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Linda Raha Avatar
    Linda Raha

    Excellent post…so much wisdom here!!!

    Like

  14. idauhahine Avatar
    idauhahine

    Love this, thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  15. vgeorg Avatar
    vgeorg

    I believe in your words 💜

    Liked by 1 person

  16. macalder02 Avatar
    macalder02

    Without a doubt, your recommendations are basic rules to have the best quality of life. It is essential to do it to feel better. Greetings

    Like

  17. D. Wallace Peach Avatar
    D. Wallace Peach

    What a wonderful list of tips for loving and honoring ourselves and living a happier life. I definitely need to work on slowing down and savoring the moments. No matter who we are, we do ourselves a disservice when we race through life. Plus it’s stressful!

    Like

  18. DDM Avatar
    DDM

    This is a very profound post. It is so needed. Thank you for your post.

    Like

  19. saraannmarie Avatar
    saraannmarie

    3 and 5 have been HUGE in my journey to self love and acceptance!!

    Like

  20. restlessjo Avatar
    restlessjo

    You sound like you have it all sorted. Years of experience in here, and no-one’s pretending it’s easy. Many thanks for your visits to my place, Saania. I wish you well!

    Like

  21. Pooja G Avatar
    Pooja G

    Yes to all of these especially about forgiving ourselves. That’s one I have been working on a lot recently and it’s been difficult but worth it. Great post.

    Like

  22. Vanya Wryter Consulting Avatar
    Vanya Wryter Consulting

    Great list! Important to stop overexplaining, for sure.

    Like

  23. authorstephanieparkermckean Avatar
    authorstephanieparkermckean

    Truly brilliant. Thank you!

    Like

  24. jayargonaut Avatar
    jayargonaut

    All very wise! Well written…Kind regards, Jay 😊

    Like

  25. 5 habits of people who love themselves – Saania’s diary – reflections, learnings, sparkles | Ned Hamson's Second Line View of the News Avatar
    5 habits of people who love themselves – Saania’s diary – reflections, learnings, sparkles | Ned Hamson's Second Line View of the News

    […] Source: 5 habits of people who love themselves – Saania’s diary – reflections, learnings, sparkles […]

    Like

Leave a comment

Latest Articles